Zanzibar is part of Tanzania in East Africa, two islands located in the Indian Ocean, Unguja and Pemba. Its capital city is Zanzibar City located on the island of Unguja. It got its independence from British on 10 December 1963. In 26th April, 1964 Tanganyika and Zanzibar united.

It has an area of about 1500 km square and estimated population of about 1.3 million. Swahili and English are their official languages

They use Shillings as their currency but they also use dollar as their means of exchange. This is because they are adapted to tourists who visit them

Time in Zanzibar is 3 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT +3).

There is freedom of worship/religion in Zanzibar. Muslims are numerous in population, followed by Christians then other religions.

The uniqueness of Zanzibar

> Cloves plantations
> Zanzibar Stone Town (World Heritage Site)
> House of wonder
> Jozani National Park
> Clean and safe beaches


Leave a Reply