General Information: Tanzania
Elephants, stork and hippos along the tarangire river

Tanzania is one of the countries located in Eastern Africa along the Indian Ocean. It is a United Republic because Tanganyika (The mainland) united with Zanzibar in 1964 to form one country Tanzania. Zanzibar is an Island in the Indian Ocean about 73.43 Km from Tanzania mainland. Tanganyika got its independence in 1961 and Zanzibar in 1963. On 26th April, 1964 Tanganyika and Zanzibar united.

Tanzania borders Zambia, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, Mozambique, Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Malawi and the Indian Ocean.

Julius Kambarage Nyerere, the father of Tanzania, helped Tanganyika gain its independence and ruled the nation till 1985. He was succeeded in office by President Ali Hassan Mwinyi who ruled till 1995. Then, Hon. Ali Mwinyi was succeeded in office by President Benjamin William Mkapa who had his 10 years in the government and handed over to Hon. Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete in 2005. He then governed for 10 years and handed over to Hon. John Pombe Magufuli in 2015. His Excellence Dkt. Magufuli is now the president of Tanzania.

Election is done every 5 years and the elected president rules for not more than 10 years if he/she is reelected for the second term

Tanzania is a democratic country. Its constitution welcomed multiparty system in 1992 and in 1995 it had it first multiparty election. There have been several political parties since then, but the following is the current list.

Tanzania political parties

  1. Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) – Revolutionary Party ( The ruling party)
  2. Chadema – Party for Democracy and Progress
  3. NCCR – The National Convention for Construction and Reform
  4. TLP – Tanzania Labor Party
  5. CUF – Civic United Front
  6. UDP – United Democratic Party
  7. Chauma – Public Party

Tanzania has an area of about 947, 283 km square in which around 945,000 km square is the mainland. Its capital city is Dodoma, situated in the middle of the country and center of business is Dar es salaam.

Its Population is approximated to be 50 million in the census done in 2012 but now estimated to be around 52 million. These people are among about 126 ethnic groups with their own dialects but united with one language, Swahili. The official languages are Swahili and English.

Currency used in Tanzania is Shillings with different denominations from 50 to 10,000. Tsh 50, 100, 200 and  500 are coins and 1,000, 2,000, 5,000 and 10,000 are notes. There are Tsh 5, 10 and 20 but they are rarely used.

Tanzania is 3 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT +3).

There is freedom of worship/religion in Tanzania. Christians are numerous in population, followed by Muslims then other religions.

Tanzania is the unique destination with plenty of resources, both natural and cultural, which are found in different parts of the country

  1. Mountains
    – Mount Kilimanjaro
    – Mt Meru
  2. Tanzania wildlife
    – Serengeti National Parks
    – Ngorongoro crater
    – Tarangire National Parks
    – Arusha National Parks
    – Lake Manyara National Parks
    – Kilimanjaro National Parks
    – Mikumi National Parks
    – Uduzungwa Mountain National Parks
    – Saadani National Parks
    – Kitulo National Parks
    – Ruaha National Parks
  3. Zanzibar Stone Town and House of wonder
    – Pemba
    – Unguja
  4. Bagamoyo
  5. Mineral
    – Diamond
    – Tanzanite
    – Ruby
    – Garnet
    – Limestone
  6. Unique Tradition tribes
    – Maasai
    – Hadzabe
    – Mang’ati
Tanzania’s huge land is mostly used for farming. We farm both cash and food crops. We have short rains in November and December and long rains in March to May. Some farmers do irrigation but many people depend on rain seasons.
  1. The 6 main cash crops in Tanzania
    – Tea
    – Sisal
    – Cotton
    – Coffee
    – Tobacco
    – Cashew nuts
  2. The main food crops in Tanzania
    – Maize
    – Beans
    – Wheat
    – Sorghum
    – Bananas
    – Millet
    – Rice
    – Potatoes
    – Cassava
    and many more.


Leave a Reply